Ramadan MVBARAK

$350.00

Artist Name

Khalid Sabree

Artwork Description

this is a straight forward piece using English letters to express an Quranic Arabic phrase meaning Blessed Ramadan. I used this style because its usually seen in Arabic and I wanted to connect to people who didn’t necessarily speak or read Arabic but could enjoy the message.

Artwork Medium

Acrylics, Marker on canvas

Dimensions

20″ x 16″ – Unframed

 

Availability: 1 in stock

Artist Name: Khalid Sabree

Artist Bio

In his decade-spanning practice, Khalid Sabree aka KHA-Tees has explored intelligence and spirituality through different materials and mediums. Not Self-taught nor school trained, Khalid began painting to imitate the comic books and cartoons he watched as a child. In his early work, he created abstract graffiti images, highlighting the drawings he saw on walls and ball courts in his Harlem neighborhood. Khalid later experimented with neo-expressionism and assemblage in the vein of Basquiat and Romare Bearden, using found objects like wood crates and sneaker boxes from around the streets of New York. He continues making paintings that later evolve into mixed media ideas. The recipient of many accolades and press write ups, Khalid falls outside the confines of any particular artistic movement or period, but he remains a seminal figure and an important influence to artists such as Chad Livesy and Anika Al-Uqda.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Ramadan MVBARAK”

Your email address will not be published.

Shopping Cart